◀ go back

you know what? i still dont get audiophile shit.

like, i get being into that stuff when youre a professional working in that kinda field, but as just A Casual Ish Music Guy i still can't find a discernable listening experience with the stuff i have. or maybe the stuff i have isnt good enough? i have no idea. i dont wanna go broke to find out.

my current audio setup is hifiman he400se headphones hooked up to a schlit magni amp which is hooked into a usb c to 3.5mm dongle that came with my google pixel. with that i still cant tell *as* much of a difference from, say my audio technica ath m50xs that i got like 5 years ago and beat into the ground (all of the fake leather fell off the earpads and the headband). well actually thats a lie, i kinda can. i mean my current setup is bit more detailed, and feels a bit more balanced (i think thats the term), but its still not enough to wow me more then it did when i first got the headphones. i just get used to it and everything feels the same. whats the fun in that?

at least the headphones look kinda neat

i still want to keep working towards this goal of my listening experience eventually being so beautiful it makes me cry but im not there yet. and honestly? i dont know if i will be. do my ears need to be trained or something? do i need a new expensive dac? or amp? do i need to completely legally download all my music in 24 bit flac instead of 16 bit even though it just ends up sounding the same to me? i really dont know. i guess a lot of this is subjective and up to preference too. doesnt make it any easier to figure out shit

i mean all hobbies come with a learning curve i guess but MAN i do not want to fry my brain doing even more research and then sell my kidneys just to get some nice equipment. or maybe im just expecting too much?
OR MAYBE I JUST FELL FOR THE MEME

if any audio guys see this, 1) sorry lmao 2) if you *do* have any tips on how to make my listening experience better lmk i guess lol